Admin Login

MacRory Cup report as St Michaels win again

By Tom Wed 11th Nov

Danske Bank MacRory Cup

St Michael’s Enniskillen 1-11 St Mary’s Magherafelt 0-5

ST MICHAEL’s Enniskillen made it 2 wins from 3 with a comfortable 9 point victory over St Mary’s Magherafelt in Killyclogher. The goal was to come deep into second half injury time which put a gloss on the scoreboard for Dom Corrigan’s side and was in fairness harsh on the South Derry school.

Playing with a strong win St Michaels were slow to get going and it was Cookstown forward Mark Megarry who opened the scoring for St Marys Magherafelt in the 4th minute. St Michaels though settled well and with points coming from Lorcan McStravick (2), Matthew McAloon (2) and Tiarnan Bogue (2) they raced into a 0-6 to 0-1 lead after 20 minutes.

Goalkeeper Ben McKinless from the Ballinderry club pointed from a 45′ against the breeze for an excellent Magherafelt score but once again it was St Michael’s who were holding all the aces with McStravick and Derrygonnelly’s Colm Jones both pointing to give St Michael’s a 0-8 to 0-2 half time lead.

The second half started with Magherafelt having a strong breeze to their advantage and when Megarry pointed to put 5 between them it could have been a sign of St Michaels collapsing.

However, the brilliant McStravick pointed before Belcoo’s McAloon added his 3rd of the day to push the Enniskillen school 0-10 to 0-3 ahead.

Megarry and Antrim minor Kevin Small who scored the winning goal against the Erne County in the Ulster MFC in 2015 pointed to cut the deficit once again to 5 but Eoghan Curran pointed before a superbly taken goal from James McCaffrey after good work from Michael Og McGarrigle and Eoghan Curran made it a second win in a row for St Michael’s.

St Michael’s are in a good place at the moment and will be confident of adding a third victory from 4 games on Friday when they face St Patrick’s Armagh in Garvaghey at 2pm.

St Michael’s – James McCaffrey 1-0, Lorcan McStravick 0-4, Matthew McAloone 0-3, Tiarnan Bogue 0-2, Eoghan Curran 0-1, Colm Jones 0-1.

St Mary’s – Mark Megarry 0-3, Ben McKinless 0-1, Kevin Small 0-1.

By Tom Wed 11th Nov

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners