Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Fear Manach

Fermanagh take title

June 22nd, 2012

Fermanagh gained a measure of revenge for their Lory Meagher Cup final loss to Tyrone when they scored a last-gasp victory in last night’s Bord Gais Energy Ulster U21HC Shield decider at Clones.

Tyrone looked set to prevail when leading by three points at the end of the third quarter, but the Erne County hit five unanswered points in the last eight minutes – four of which came from free-taker John Duffy – to take the title.

The Red Hands had led 0-7 to 0-5 at the break, but would have been out of sight had they not registered nine wides, while Fermanagh ‘keeper Dwayne McPhillips denied them a goal with a brilliant save. They continued to hold the upper hand until Daniel Teague, John Duffy and John Paul McGarry led Fermanagh’s late revival.

Fermanagh: D McPhillips; C Caulfield, N Carson, T Cleary; D Teague (0-1 free), F McBrien, C McElroy; J Duffy (0-6, 0-4 frees), JP McGarry (0-2); R Porteous, R Hyde, C Corry; C Corrigan, S Curran (0-3, 01 free), M Beggan. Subs: O Boyle for Corry, N Lunney for Porteous.

Tyrone: C McElhatton; A McKernan, R Devlin, B Begley; S Kelly, C McNally, E Duffin; A Kelly, T Morgan (0-2); L Armstrong, D Casey (0-6, 0-5 frees), D Begley; G Gilmore (0-1), T Lowe, B McGurk. Sub: C McCrudden for Duffin.

Referee – P Braniff (Down).

Our Sponsors