Admin Login

Brian MacLaughlin up for Ulster GAA Writers Player of the Year

By Tom Mon 9th Nov

Brian MacLaughlin up for Ulster GAA Writers Player of the Year
Brian MacLaughlin up for Ulster GAA Writers Player of the Year

Fermanagh Hurler Brian MacLaughlin will go up against Damien Casey (Tyrone) and Paddy Henry (Derry) for the much coveted Ulster GAA Writers Hurler of the Year award this Friday night in The Great Northern Hotel Bundoran.
The Dublin based Garda displayed some fantastic performances for the Erne County this year as they won the Lory Meagher Cup against Sligo, 3-16 to 1-17.
The first year playing hurling for his parents native County was a super one says MacLaughlin, “Absolutely brilliant to be honest. On a personal level getting to Croke Park and winning is a major milestone and to now get nominated for this award is just amazing.”
The Round Towers Clondalkin hurler made his debut for Fermanagh against Fingal and this was a moment MacLaughlin will never forget, “Its funny I made my debut against Fingal in the League as it was against a good few players that I have played with down through the years in Dublin.”
He continued, “Sean Duffy and Seamus McCusker have been brilliant this year towards me as they knew my training schedule would be tight with work in Dublin but they knew I was working hard in Dublin and training while I always available for games.”
The NHL Division 3A did not go to plan for Fermanagh year with relegation but a winning run in the Lory Meagher Cup seen MacLaughlin hit 0-5 in the Final that seen an emotional Fermanagh team collect the trophy.
That emotional moment came from the hugely shocking death to Fermanagh hurler Shane Mulholland who was killed on his way home from work in April of this year. MacLaughlin said Shane’s death was tough on the whole squad, “Every one of us was numb, I will always remember my first ever training session for Fermanagh, I was coming down from Dublin and I was meeting Mark Curry and Shane Mulholland in Derrylin to bring me to Lissan for the first time. Shane introduced me to the whole squad that night in the Lissan dressing rooms and I will always remember that. Shane spoke that night saying his ‘Holy Grail’ was to win the Lory Meagher Cup and after his tragic passing we made damn sure we would win it for him.”
The former Dublin 2004 and 2005 Minor hurler and footballer’s Dad Liam captained the Fermanagh footballers the same year as his Uncle Gerry captained the Fermanagh hurlers so sport has always been in his family.
The 28 year old knows next season’s Nicky Rackard Cup will be a huge step up for Fermanagh in 2016 as they come up against sides like Armagh, Donegal, Tyrone and Mayo, “We seen in the League when you go up against bigger sides its a huge step up, ability wise and technique wise, we have confidence from winning the Lory Meagher Cup and I believe we can do ourselves justice next season.”
For now McLaughlin will look forward to Friday night and to win the award it would mean so much, “Its great to be honoured for such an award. Its an individual accolade but for sure if it wasn’t for my team mates I wouldn’t be up for any award. Winning the Lory Meagher Cup this year for me was my award and anything else is a huge bonus.”
All of Fermanagh wish Brian MacLaughlin the absolute best of luck this Friday night in Bundoran.

2015 UGAAWA Annual Awards Nominees:

Male Footballer of the Year – Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Sean Quigley (Fermanagh).
Female Footballer of the Year – Geraldine McLaughlin (Donegal), Yvonne McMonagle (Donegal), Aimee Mackin (Armagh).
Hurler of the Year – Damien Casey (Tyrone), Paddy Henry (Derry), Brian McLaughlin (Fermanagh).
Camogie Award – Ciara Donnelly (Armagh), Karen Kielt (Derry), Niamh Mallon (Down).
Handball Award – Paul Brady (Cavan), Conor McElduff (Tyrone), Aisling Reilly (Antrim).
Club Award – Slaughtneil (Derry), Ballinderry (Derry), Termon Ladies (Donegal).
Team of the Year – Fermanagh Footballers, Fermanagh Hurlers, Tyrone U21 Footballers.
Young Achiever of the Year – Mark Bradley (Tyrone), Ciarán McGeary (Tyrone), Aimee Mackin (Armagh).
Communications Award – Noel Duffy (Monaghan), Eunan Lindsay (Tyrone), Pauric McGurn (Fermanagh).

To book your ticket to the five-course black tie banquet attended by Ulster’s top GAA stars just call The Great Northern Hotel, Bundoran on 00353 71 984 1204.

brian mclaughlin pic

By Tom Mon 9th Nov

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor

Our Partners