Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Fear Manach

Fermanagh lose to Derry

January 6th, 2019

Bank of Ireland McKenna Cup, Section C, Round 2
Fermanagh 2-8 v Derry 3-9
Substitute Ben McCarron proved to be the unlikely hero with a hat-trick of goals as Derry claimed a first win in this season’s McKenna Cup.
The Steelstown club man was to come into the game after just four minutes after an unfortunate injury to playing colleague Ryan Bell.
Derry would hold sway for the majority of the first half with early points coming from Emmett Bradley, Enda Lynn and Bradley again to lead by three.
Fermanagh finally got off the mark in the 21st minute thanks to a Kevin McDonnell score but McCarron was to hit the net immediately after this and Padraig McGrogan and Christopher Bradley gave the Oak Leafers a 0-1 to 1-5 advantage.
Two Darragh McGurn points brought Rory Gallagher’s side back into the game, but Christopher Bradley would point from a free to give Derry a strong six point lead.
Ryan Lyons then hit a Fermanagh goal after a clever pass from Conor McGee, while in the seven minutes of additional time Christopher Bradley and Darragh McGurn pointed to leave Derry still leading 1-4 to 1-7.
Fermanagh pointed early in the second half through Kevin McDonnell once again, but a second McCarron goal and a Derry point from Emmett Bradley left it 1-5 to 2-8 as Derry captain Enda Lynn was sent off for two yellow card offences.
Fermanagh’s Darragh McGurn hit a penalty goal but once again Derry’s McCarron would go up the other side of the field and completed his hat-trick in the 55th minute to make it 2-5 to 3-8.
Ben McCarron and Kane Connor exchanged scores before Fermanagh substitute Garvan Jones impressed on his introduction with two late scores.
An impressive win for Derry who on this form look a solid bet to come up from NFL Division 4.
Fermanagh travel to Omagh this Wednesday night in the hope of claiming a first victory of the season before Cork in NFL Division 2.
FERMANAGH – James McGrath, Ryan Lyons 1-0, Tiarnan Daly, Cian McManus, Kane Connor 0-1, Lee Cullen, Ultan Kelm, Eoin Donnelly, Ryan Jones, Aidan Breen, Kevin McDonnell 0-2, Ciaran Corrigan, Daniel Teague, Tomas Clarke, Darragh McGurn 1-3. SUBS – Conor McGee for D Teague (21), Garvan Jones 0-2 for T Daly (54), Jonathan Cassidy for R Lyons (66), Daniel Teague for A Breen (67).
DERRY – Odhran Lynch, Padraig McGrogan 0-1, Conor Mulholland, Sean Quinn, Ryan Dougan, Eamon McGill, Jason Rocks, Conor McAtamney, Padraig Cassidy, Patrick Coney, Christopher Bradley 0-3, Eoghan Concannon, Ryan Bell, Emmett Bradley 0-3, Enda Lynn 0-1. SUBS – Ben McCarron 3-1 for R Bell (4), Declan Hughes for C McAtamney (40), Ciaran McFaul for J Rocks (45), Simon McErlain for B McCarron (65), Sean McKeever for R Dougan (68).
Referee – Martin McNally (Monaghan)

Our Sponsors