Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Fear Manach

Fermanagh bow out of McKenna Cup

January 22nd, 2017

McKenna Cup Semi Final

Tyrone 0-14 v Fermanagh 0-11

Fermanagh competed strongly throughout but just came up short as Tyrone moved into another McKenna Cup Final.

The Erne County started brightly and raced into a 0-2 to 0-0 lead thanks to Eddie Courtney from play and a Tomas Corrigan free.

Tyrone levelled matters by the 11th minute as Darren McCurry pointed from a Peter Harte ball before Niall McKenna swung over a fine effort.

Peter Harte would strike another 3 frees along with Darren McCurry points to give them a 0-7 to 0-4 interval lead with Tomas Corrigan very much in the scoring stakes for Pete McGraths side.

Tomas Corrigan pointed early on in the second half but Tyrone took over with three points in a row thanks to Darren McCurry before Paul McCusker finished off a flowing move to leave it 0-6 to 0-10.

Lee Brennan, Cathal McShane and Darren McCurry all pointed for Mickey Harte’s side before a Tomas Corrigan free made it 0-7 to 0-13 with 16 minutes remaining.

Sean Quigley came on to hit two wonderful frees to give Fermanagh a chance but a Mark Bradley score pushed Tyrone clear again and late scores from Aidan Breen and Tomas Corrigan concluded a high tempo game in which Fermanagh just came out the wrong side of.

Tyrone – Mickey O’Neill; Aidan McCrory, Ronan McNamee, Cathal McCarron; Ronan McNabb, Tiernan McCann, Peter Harte 0-4; Colm Cavanagh, Padraig McNulty; Declan McClure, Niall Sludden, Niall McKenna 0-1; Darren McCurry 0-6, Cathal McShane 0-1, Lee Brennan 0-1.

SUBS – Matthew Donnelly for Peter Harte (HT), Pauric Hampsey for Aidan McCrory (HT), Mark Bradley 0-1 for Niall McKenna (43), Conor Meyler for Colm Cavanagh (49), Ronan O’Neill for Lee Brennan (60), Cahir McCullagh for Niall Sludden (68).

Fermanagh – Thomas Treacy; Michael Jones, Che Cullen, Cian McManus; Declan McCusker, Ryan McCluskey, Patrick Reihill; Lee Cullen, Eoin Donnelly; Paul McCusker 0-1, James McMahon, Aidan Breen 0-1; Barry Mulrone, Eddie Courtney 0-1, Tomas Corrigan 0-6.

SUBS – Daryl Keenan for James McMahon (HT), James McMahon for Ryan McCluskey (44), Cathal Beacom for Patrick Reihill (50), Sean Quigley 0-2 for Eddie Courtney (53), Tommy McCaffrey for Barry Mulrone (58).

Referee – Noel Mooney (Cavan)

Attendance – 5496

Our Sponsors