• Lá na gClub Leaderboard

Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Fear Manach

Enniskillen Gaels bow out of St Pauls Ulster Minor Club Championship

December 19th, 2016

Ulster Club Minor Football Championship Semi Final

Burren 5-15 v Enniskillen Gaels 2-4

Burren made it look easy yesterday at St Pauls Belfast with a stunning twenty point victory over Enniskillen Gaels in the Ulster Club Minor Championship.

The Burren side had goal heroes from Conor McCartan and Declan Murdock both supplying two goals apiece as the Down side had the luxury of even taking off a number of players with ten minutes remaining.

It was Enniskillen who actually started the better of the two sides with Ronan Beattie hitting the back of the net in the opening 50 seconds to give his side a dream start.

Conall Quinn and Ronan Fegan then exchanged scores for each side before Burren hit a scoring spree with points coming from Declan Murdock, Ronan Fegan and goals from Liam Kerr and Declan Murdock to put the Down side 2-3 to 1-2 ahead after 15 minutes.

The goals continued to flow for Burren as Conor McCartan finished off a flowing move before Enniskillen’s Callum Jones hit a much needed Enniskillen point who were to lose prominent midfielder Eoin Beacom to injury.

Burren continued to hit some fine points with Liam Kerr, Shay Murdock (2) and Declan Murdock all hitting their range to give the Down side a healthy 3-7 to 1-3 interval lead.

Declan Murdock and Aaron Laverty pointed early on for Burren to put them a huge 12 point lead before it was reduced to 9 as Callum Jones showed his class with a low shot into the back of the net to make it 3-9 to 2-3 on 34 minutes.

It was Burren though who were holding all the aces as Ronan Fegan, Liam Kerr and Declan Murdock all added further scores before Callum Jones pointed for the Fermanagh side.

With 12 minutes to go Burren added a fourth goal as Conor McCartan broke through and hit a three pointer before Declan Murdock would hit a fifth goal just three minutes later as Burren made a raft of substitutes.

Burren were now 5-12 to 2-4 ahead with nine minutes remaining and they would hit the last 3 points of the game as Declan Murdock who would finish with a personal tally of 2-5 pointed before Aaron Laverty and Darragh Murdock all hit late scores to put 20 points between the two sides at the full time whistle.

Next up for Burren are the winners of Kilrea and Carrickmore who meet on St Stephens Day, the Final is scheduled for January 1st 2017.


Raymond Kelly; Mal McAvoy, Aidan Fitzpatrick, Ardan McAvoy; Thomas Travers, Conor Cox, Peter Fegan; Shea Fitzpatrick, Aaron Laverty (0-2); Liam Kerr (1-2), Darragh Murdock (0-1), Ronan Fegan (0-3, 1f); Conor McCartan (2-0), Shay Murdock (0-2), Declan Murdock (2-5, 1f).
Subs: Ruairi Dalton for S Murdock HT; Ryan McAteer for R Fegan 48m; Shane O’Hare for A Fitzpatrick 50m; Jack McShane for T Travers 54m; Ryan Cunningham for L Kerr 57m; Sean O’Connor for D Murdock 57m.


Cian Newman; Ethan Butler, Aaron Nolan, Patrick Cassidy; Nathan Cassidy, Jonathan Cassidy, Brandon Horan; Eoin Beacom, Darragh Keaney (0-1); John Reihill, Conall Quinn (0-1), Ethan Beresford; Ronan Beattie (1-0), Ronan Quinn, Callum Jones (1-2).
Subs: Gavin Greene for E Beacom 21m; Calum Frempong for R Beattie 30m (BC); Timmy Boyd for E Beresford HT; Eoin Beacom for E Butler HT; Odhran Corrigan for T Boyd 49m.
Yellow cards: Paddy Cassidy 54m.
Black card: Ronan Beattie 27m.


Ref: Eamon McHugh (Tyrone)


Our Sponsors