Cumann Lúthchleas Gael Fear Manach

Derrygonnelly make it 4 in a row

September 30th, 2018

Quinn Building Products Fermanagh Senior Championship Final
Derrygonnelly 2-16 v Ederney 0-10
Derrygonnelly would make it four titles in a row with a comprehensive 12 point victory over Ederney on Sunday afternoon played at the perfect looking Brewster Park.
The first half was nip and tuck throughout with Mark McCauley prominent for Ederney and some fabulous scores from Martin McGrath, Aaron Dennison and Christopher Snow.
Derrygonnelly though would go in leading at the break though 1-7 to 0-7 thanks mainly to a goal from captain Ryan Jones on 20 minutes and further Derrygonnelly scores from Garvan Jones, Neil Gallagher and Paul Ward.
The second half seen Ryan Jones and Martin McGrath exchange scores but from this Derrygonnelly would push on with unbelievable power.
A fantastic Paul Ward goal set the tone for the remainder of the second half while further scores arrived from Ryan Jones, Paul Ward, Conall Jones and Gary McKenna as the Harps took full control of the game.
Ederney would finish off with points from Conor McGee and Aaron Dennison but Derrygonnelly can not be denied a fourth Senior Championship title in a row and a seventh title since 1995.

Derrygonnelly – Jack Kelly, Michael Jones, Tiarnan Daly, Eamon McHugh, Neil Gallagher 0-1, Declan Cassidy, Garvan McGinley, Stephen McGullion, Ryan Jones 1-2, Leigh Jones, Garvan Jones 0-5, Shane McGullion, Paul Ward 1-3, Conall Jones 0-3, Gary McKenna 0-2. SUBS – Lee Jones for N Gallagher (45), Oisin Smyth for T Daly (49), Dennis Greene for L Jones (52), Kevin Cassidy for Shane McGullion (54), Aidan McKenna for D Cassidy (58), Gavin McGovern for R Jones (64 Black Card).

Ederney – Enda Ferris, Manus Maguire, Christopher Snow 0-1, Michael Maguire, Aaron Dennison 0-2, John Irvine, Finbar Gillen, Martin McGrath 0-2, Conor McGee 0-1, Stephen McElrone, Declan McCusker, Ryan Morris, Sean Cassidy, Paul McCusker, Mark McCauley 0-4. SUBS – Michael McAleer for M Maguire (22), Pol McKervey for P McCusker (40), Enda Cassidy for S McElrone (45), Connor Cassidy for M McCauley (46), Damien Cassidy for S Cassidy (53) Connor Maguire for M Maguire (58).
Referee – James Lewis (Newtownbutler)

Our Sponsors