Admin Login

St Michaels qualify for Quarter Finals

By Tom Tue 24th Nov

St Michaels qualify for Quarter Finals
St Michaels qualify for Quarter Finals

St Michael’s Enniskillen 2-7 St Macartan’s Monaghan 1-7

St Michael’s were to qualify for the Quarter Finals of the MacRory Cup with a deserving three point success against neighbours St Macartan’s Monaghan in Garvaghey on Tuesday afternoon.

Two placed balls from Tempo’s Lorcan McStravick had St Michaels in control, while Conor Leonard and Tiarnan Bogue both added points for their side to leave it 0-3 to 0-1 in favour of the Enniskillen school with 20 minutes played.

The first goal of the game arrived in the 27th minute when Tyholland’s Pauric Finnan was on hand to fire home but immediately St Michael’s responded with a goal as early substitute stabbed James Garrity stabbed a low ball home as McStravick pointed again to give St Michael’s a 1-4 to 1-1 interval lead.

St Macartan’s started the second half in superb fashion as Remy McKenna, Conor Leonard and Dean McGuigan all pointed in the opening ten minutes of the second half to make it 1-4 apiece.

The sides then exchanged scores for the next 15 minutes with St Michael’s scores coming from the excellent McStravick (2) and Erne Gaels star Michael Og McGarrigle, while for the Monaghan school Conor Leonard, Robbie McAllister and Ciaran Burns made it 1-7 apiece going into the 57th minute of the game.

A draw would have done neither side any good but it was another Erne Gaels attacker in Gareth Deery who carried the ball past 3 St Macarten defenders before planting a terrific strike into the net to give St Michaels a 3 point lead.

the Monaghan school looked for an equalsiier but the Enniskillen school held firm and can now look forward to the Quarter Final draw in December.

A fantastic achievement from Dominic Corrigan’s (pic) side when you consider they lost their opening Group game to St Marys Magherafelt by 22 points.

St Michael’s Enniskillen – Lorcan McStravick 0-5, James Garrity 1-0, Gareth Deery 1-0, Tiarnan Bogue 0-1, Michael óg McGarrigle 0-1.

St Macartan’s Monaghan – Conor Leonard 0-3, Pauric Finnan 1-0, Robbie McAllister 0-1, Remy McKenna 0-1, Dean McGuigan 0-1, Ciaran Burns 0-1.


By Tom Tue 24th Nov

Related News

View All

Main Sponsor - Tracey Concrete

Our Partners