Fermanagh start with a win

January 3rd, 2018 | County

Bank of Ireland McKenna Cup, Round 1
Fermanagh 2-11 v Monaghan 0-12
Two goals in the second half courtesy of Conall Jones and Aidan Breen was enough to give Fermanagh an opening win on a wet night in Brewster Park, Enniskillen.
The game was also the first for new manager Rory Gallagher as he got one over former Fermanagh great Malachy O’Rourke in a game that seen a healthy 1382 in attendance.
The first half seen the sides level on three occasions, Fermanagh with points from Sean Quigley (2), Conall Jones (2) and Eoin McManus. While for Monaghan points came from David Garland (2) Micheal Brannigan (2), James Wilson and Niall Kearns leaving it Fermanagh 0-5 v Monaghan 0-6 at the break.
Conall Jones scored the opening goal of the game inside the first two minutes of the second half and when Man of the Match Aidan Breen fired in a second goal it was 2-6 to 0-8 with 18 minutes remaining.
Monaghan tried in vein with points from Micheal Brannigan, Rory Beggan and David Garland but Fermanagh finished with aplomb by hitting some fine late scores via Ryan Lyons, Ryan Jones, Conor McGee and Ruairi Corrigan.

FERMANAGH – Patrick Cadden, Eamon McHugh, Che Cullen, Jack McCann, Paul McCusker (0-1), Declan McCusker, Lee Cullen, Eoin Donnelly, Ryan Jones (0-1), Eoin McManus (0-1), Ryan Lyons (0-1), Aidan Breen (1-1), Lorcan McStravick, Conall Jones (1-2), Sean Quigley (0-2).
SUBS – Cian McManus for J McCann (41), Ruairi Corrigan (0-1) for E McManus (52), Eddie Courtney for S Quigley (57), Conor McGee (0-1) for L McStravick (61), Kane Connor for C Jones (70).
MONAGHAN – Rory Beggan (0-2), John McCarron, Conor Boyle, Barry Kerr, Kieran Duffy, Paraic McGurk, Stephen Finnegan, Niall Kearns (0-1), Neil McAdam, Owen Duffy (0-1), Michael Brannigan (0-3), Paudie McKenna, David Garland (0-4), Darren Freeman, James Wilson (0-1).
SUBS – Fintan Kelly for N Kearns (48), Frank Connolly for S Finnegan (54), Darren Hughes for D Freeman (57), Dean Connolly for P McKenna (57), Barry McDermott for M Brannigan (66), Owen Coyle for P McGurk (68).

Referee – Sean Hurson (Tyrone)