Fermanagh make it 2 wins from 2

February 4th, 2018 | County

Allianz NFL Division 3

Fermanagh 2-11 v Offaly 1-6

Fermanagh made it two wins from two with a hard working eight-point victory over winless Offaly at a dry Brewster Park, Enniskillen.

Rory Gallagher’s side hit two goals in the first half from Conall Jones and Aidan Breen that put huge daylight between the sides.

Fermanagh led early on with a point coming from Sean Quigley, but Offaly responded immediately with a fine score from full forward Anton Sullivan on 8 minutes.

Conall Jones hit the first goal of the game on 15 minutes and further scores from Barry Mulrone and Sean Quigley seen the Erne men lead 1-5 to 0-1.

Offaly did hit late first half points from Sullivan and Niall Darby, but a second goal from Fermanagh by Sean Quigley extended the home sides lead as they went in at the interval, 2-6 to 0-4.

Offaly started the second half much better and opened up with points from Joseph O’Connor and Nigel Dunne before a Michael Brazil goal made it 2-6 to 1-6.

Fermanagh though did not panic and points from Sean Quigley (2), Kane Connor, Paul McCusker and Ryan Lyons seen Fermanagh score the final five points of the game.

Next up for Fermanagh is Sligo away, for Offaly its two defeats in a row and a trip to Celtic Park, Derry awaits them.

FERMANAGH – Patrick Cadden, Kane Connor (0-1), Che Cullen, Cian McManus, Barry Mulrone (0-2), Lee Cullen, Declan McCusker (0-1), Eoin Donnelly, Eddie Courtney, Michael Jones, Paul McCusker (0-1), Aidan Breen (1-0), Daniel Teague, Conall Jones (1-2), Sean Quigley (0-3). SUBS – Ciaran Corrigan for D Teague (41), Conor McGee for E Courtney (46), Ryan Lyons (0-1) for L Cullen (54), Ryan McCluskey for P McCusker (62), Eamon Maguire for S Quigley (65), Eoin McManus for A Breen (68).

OFFALY – Patrick Dunican, David Brady, Paul McConway, Sean Pender, David Dempsey, Peter Cunningham, Niall Darby (0-1), Conor McNamee, Bobby O’Dea, Jordan Hayes, Michael Brazil (1-0), Shane Nally, Cian Johnson, Anton Sullivan (0-2), Nigel Dunne (0-2). SUBS – Joseph O’Connor (0-1) for J Hayes (28), Sean Doyle for B O’Dea (52), Shane Tierney for C McNamee 954), Aaron Hensey for N Dunne (61).

Referee – Eamon O’Grady (Leitrim)